Suzanne Collins


Suzanne Collins Biography The Hunger Games Trilogy AuthorSince 1991, Suzanne Collins has been busy writing for children’s television. She has worked on the staffs of several Nickelodeon shows, including the Emmy-nominated hit Clarissa Explains it All and The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo. For preschool viewers, she penned multiple stories for the Emmy-nominated Little Bear and Oswald. She also co-wrote the critically acclaimed Rankin/​Bass Christmas special, Santa, Baby! Most recently she was the Head Writer for Scholastic Entertainment’s Clifford’s Puppy Days,and a freelancer on Wow! Wow! Wubbzy!

While working on a Kids WB show called Generation O! she met children’s author James Proimos, who talked her into giving children’s books a try.

Thinking one day about Alice in Wonderland, she was struck by how pastoral the setting must seem to kids who, like her own, lived in urban surroundings. In New York City, you’re much more likely to fall down a manhole than a rabbit hole and, if you do, you’re not going to find a tea party. What you might find...? Well, that’s the story of Gregor the Overlander, the first book in her five-part fantasy/​war series, The Underland Chronicles.

Her next series, The Hunger Games Trilogy, is an international bestseller.

At present, Suzanne is at work on a picture book with James Proimos.

She currently lives in Connecticut with her family and a pair of feral kittens they adopted from their backyard.

Personal Life
Suzanne Collins BiographySuzanne Collins was born in 1962/3 in a family who has served the Army for many years. Her grandfather and uncles have been a part of the World Wars and she herself was a daughter of lieutenant colonel. She is a confident woman with well defined features and long silky hair. She is modest and shy with less interest in the technological advancements of the social media. Suzanne Collins is a citizen of United States and currently lives in Connecticut with her husband and two children. She got married to Cap Pryor who was an actor and moved from Manhattan to Connecticut after she was blessed with two children. She began writing for the children television shows after her graduation.
Suzanne Collins Biography The Hunger Games Trilogy AuthorSuzanne Collins is a creative and innovative writer who became successful and favorite of many in very less time. Her career started from children TV show writing and on a friend’s motivation she wrote her fist book which was a part of the series on three popular books named: The Hunger Games ( First Book), Catching Fire (Second Book) and Mockingjay (Recent Book). Her fist book became the bestseller on The New York Times list and made her a popular figure. From then till now Suzanne Collins has written many notable and bestseller books and has added innumerous awards to her name.

Two of her series became most popular in not just children but amongst the adults too. Her work is termed as addictive and the critics love the way she handles sensitive issues in her writing. Let us look into a few of the publications from the work of Suzanne Collins:

The Series “The Underland Chronicles” has five books under its name which were published in five years from 2003 to 2007.

Suzanne Collins Biography The Hunger Games Trilogy Author
  • Gregor the Overlander Published in year 2003
  • Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane Published in year 2004
  • Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods Published in year 2005
  • Gregor and the Marks of Secret Published in year 2006
  • Gregor and the Code of Claw Published in year 2007
In the same way the other Series under the name “The Hunger Games Trilogy” has three books published under its name. They were admired because of the new concept and the different writing style of Suzanne Collins. These three books were:

Suzanne Collins Biography The Hunger Games Trilogy Author
  • The Hunger Games Published in the year 2008
  • Catching Fire Published in the year 2009
  • Mockingjay Published in the year 2010
Few other famous works of Suzanne includes her book Fire Proof: Shelby Woo #11 which was published in 1999. When Charlie McButton Lost Power was published in 2005 and in 2009 her book When Charlie McButton Gained Power got published.

Awards won by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins Biography The Hunger Games Trilogy Author
Suzanne Collins has accomplished to be a successful writer in no time. She has a massive fan following and list of her awards, medals and recognitions is enormous. She received NAIBA Children’s Novel Award in 2004, A Book List Editor’s Choice in 2008; she received Georgia Peach Book Awards for Teen Readers in the year 2010 and most recently she was honored by California Young Reader Medal.

Video Interview about The Hunger Games Trilogy

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7:

Part 8:

Part 9:

Part 10:
Visit the official website of Suzanne Collins at
Info Source:
Video Source: Scholastic Teens